Meet Matthew Richman, the newest member of Team BIEC!!

My Name is Matthew Richman, and I’m currently working at BIEC and couldn’t be happier! I was fortunate enough to go on Birthright Israel during the winter of ’09, and little did I know, my life was about to be revamped. I was at the point where I didn’t know what I wanted, or what the future had in store for me. Due to perfect timing (story of my life), a newly expired work contract, I decided to be on my way to Israel, leaving the continent for the first time, with an open ended ticket and an open mind.

Like most, I didn’t know what to expect going in and wasn’t sure what I would take away from it but was still excited to see what would be. When I met up with everyone at the airport, the groups’ eagerness got me more excited.  I was also fortunate enough to have the infamous Jer Heitner as my Madrich and his contagious, positive energy helped me to immediately realize this was going to be a trip of a lifetime.

After the first falafel, I embraced the ten day trip and began looking forward to my adventure. The Birthright Israel trip as a whole is indescribable until you go, but quite simply, you discover, learn, and you love; these differ for each individual.

For the next two months, traveling was my agenda. New countries, people, and amazing food propelled me into a new world, now a part of my life and thing that helped shape who I am today. When I arrived back inMontreal, and reality, I still wasn’t sure what the future had in store for me, but realized I was bitten by the travel bug and needed to act on my new found passion. I felt compelled to find a new job, and fund my future travels to where I saw fit. Almost eight months had passed, and another freshly expired contract was in sight. The timing couldn’t have been better as I packed up for Australia, to find more answers to my life, again.

This time, I was gone for a year, going to places I’ve never imagined and meeting some of the most interesting people from all different walks of life. Now I started to get more of an idea of what drove me, and what was so amazing in what I was doing; sharing life with my new found community. When I came back toMontrealafter that time, I didn’t have the slightest idea how to bring back that feeling, until hearing about the opening at BIEC.

I knew I would be able to demonstrate the value of community, meet new people, and share my experiences with other Jewish young adults.  This is part of my story and my experiences; I now look forward to getting to know you and hearing about yours…

Image

Posted on July 5, 2012, in Team BIEC and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

