BIECAmanda’s Top 5

As I search for inspiration to blast via our blog to the world, I stumbled upon a sportswriter’s top 5 and I thought, man, that’s a really good idea!

So I borrowed it. I picked the top 5 things that I love and I will list my top 5 of that topic.

So here we go, one at a time…

Number 5: Spring time shred. I have been snowboarding for about 6 years and I’ve been getting more and more excited for it every year. Last year was a big riding adventure; I ploughed 3 new-to-me mountains and loved them! There’s nothing like riding down a brand new mountain and getting lost in the trails.

So, with the ski season ready to go, I thought a great way to kick off my Top 5 would be to help you discover some new mountains yourself!

 

#5. Sutton – out east in Quebec, a great mountain to play on, which isn’t too far from home.

 

#4. Mont Ste-Anne – in Quebec, not as easily accessible than some others on the list, however, it is absolutely one of my favourite places to shred and relax.

 

#3. Bromont – another great mountain in the Eastern Townships and one of the fewer larger mountains that allow for night skiing! Very easily accessible and tons of different trails for all levels of difficulties.

 

#2. Tremblant – Laurentians. You can debate my top 2 mountains back and forth, but the truth of the matter is that they are both number 1’s in their services. Tremblant is a busy resort village, so for those who love crowds of buzzing people sweating it out on the mountain and hitting the numerous bars in the village, Trembs is the way to go!

 

#1. Jay Peak – Vermont. My all-time favourite! The difference between Jay and Trembs is that, at the base of Jay, there is one general meeting area, the chalet! It isn’t in a village where everyone can disperse. You sit down on an Adirondack chair, grab a beer, listen to some live music or enjoy the BBQ. This is the place I get the best chilling vibe from after a hardcore day on the slopes.  And I cannot wait to go back.

Dear Snow,

I appreciate your desire to please everyone and your efforts in melting over the past week, but we’re ready for you to come back now!

Love,

The Snowboarders and Skiers of Montreal

Posted on January 3, 2011, in Sports, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You happy now sis? It’s snowing!

    If life permits I might hit the slopes with you next Saturday. No promises but I want to hit the slopes BAD!

  1. Pingback: Winter in Montreal…more than just snow and ice | What The BIEC?

Leave a Reply

