The “Awesome” Little Things That We Take For Granted…

About two and a half years ago a man by the name of Neil Pasricha started a Blog call 1000awesomethings.com. He stated that, “if you flipped open the newspaper it was filled with the same stuff every day. The polar ice caps were melting, there were pirates storming the seas, the economy was on the verge of collapse, and there were wars going on all over the world.”

Having said that, Pasricha wanted to express the little things in life that could brighten up your day, even for a split second! He discusses topics like “Using Rock-Paper-Scissors to Settle Anything,” “Picking Your Nose,” “Watching the Price is Right when You’re Home Sick,” and “Peeling an Orange in One Shot.”

I could discuss his Blog forever, but I’ve been rather inspired since I began reading his book a few days ago – The Book of Awesome. What I’ve realized is that joy can be found all over the place. positive moments can be found in even  the darkest little corners of your everyday life and flashes of brilliance can peek through cracks of the most negative situations. Now I don’t want to come of as someone who’s overwhelmingly positive, because I don’t necessarily see myself as an outward optimist, but I do like to stay positive when possible.

While I’ve read a large handful of Pasricha’s awesome moments, I haven’t read all of them – so please forgive me if some of mine overlap with the original awesomeness. Here are a few of my little awesome moments that give me little pick-me-ups from time to time. I encourage you all to come up with your own and either share them or keep them in your back pocket for when you’re having a mediocre day.

Awesome moment # 1: Spending a portion of the morning at work trying to figure out with everybody what to eat for lunch. No matter how bad your day is going, talking about food always has a way of putting a smile on my face. Awesome!

Awesome moment # 2: Finding the perfect parking spot after circling the block for 20 minutes frantically searching for parking. Having the perfect parking spot after not having a spot at all? Awesome!

Awesome moment # 3: I make plenty of phone calls and write my fair share of emails during the day. On busy days, the worst feeling is when you step away from your desk for a few minutes, only to return to a voicemail. Every once in a while, I check my voicemail and the lovely sound of a phone hanging up on the other end fills the earpiece. I call it the false alarm voicemail. Awesome!

Posted on December 22, 2010, in Feel-good. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. great write up jar!!!
    I wonder who got you that book, they must be pretty awesome 🙂

  2. I must add taking off sox at the end of the day. An amazing moment every single damn time. Thanks J-Co for some inspiration to stay smiling… especially since I’m at the front desk!

  3. Loved it. Great post, cool video and song.
    Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

