“Dream as if you’ll live forever, live as if you’ll die today.”

Carpe Diem: live your  life to the fullest with no regret, live every day as if it were your last, the future is promised to no one, appreciate today as tomorrow may never come…

I love those sayings, and although I try to live by them, I find myself sitting around and letting life pass me by expecting to eventually get up off my touchas! In an attempt to live by these sayings, I decided to create a bucket list. This desire to enjoy life and explore what the world has to offer surged from an obsession with an inspiring new TV show on MTV called The Buried Life. The show is about 4 young guys who travel around the country in an effort to cross off a list of items they want to complete before they die.  So, as I prepare myself to compile my list I start to wonder, what do I want to do before I die? Although it may seem like a simple question, I was perplexed; what do I want to accomplish, what do I want to see, where do I want to go…  It took me a while to start writing but here is what I came up with so far:

My bucket list:

  1. Find my true love and get married
  2. Purchase and decorate my own home
  3. Experience motherhood
  4. Discover my life’s purpose
  5. Make a difference in someone’s life
  6. Kick my worse negative habit (biting my fingers)
  7. Become a better public speaker
  8. Sail around the world
  9. Visit the Amazon rainforest
  10. Ride a gondola in Venice, Italy
  11. Go Zorbing in New Zealand
  12. Partake in a Japanese tea ceremony
  13. Watch the ball drop for New Years in New York city
  14. Watch the changing of the guards at Buckingham palace
  15. Volunteer in a third world country
  16. Build a Habitat for Humanity home
  17. Watch turtles hatch and run to the ocean
  18. Go whale watching
  19. Ride an elephant
  20. Milk a cow
  21. Go white water rafting
  22. Jump off a high cliff into deep water
  23. Run a 10K race
  24. Learn to snowboard
  25. Learn to belly dance
  26. Learn to surf
  27. Learn to meditate and manage my stress
  28. Go sky diving
  29. Go fire walking
  30. Race a sports car
  31. See an Olympic game
  32. See at least 100 concerts
  33. Ride in a hot air balloon
  34. Learn sign language
  35. Break a Guinness World Record
  36. Take up photography
  37. Make a stained glass piece
  38. Become a Wine Connoisseur and visit some of the world’s most famous wineries
  39. Become an art collector
  40. Solve a Rubik’s Cube

Ideally I’d like to have a list of 50 items but can’t figure out what my last 10 could be. Any suggestions?? Check out the Buried Life trailer for some inspiration!

Posted on December 7, 2010, in Team BIEC. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. A few I’d like to do:
    1. Take my own “Buried Life”-like summer road trip with a group of people.
    2. Make a viral video? (http://tcrn.ch/hGYuDt a bit dated but you’d be surprised at what it takes including paying people to post your stuff)
    3. Hang out with William Shatner
    4. Direct and Produce a feature length movie
    5. Suit-up for a practice with the Habs (and Jer of course)

Leave a Reply

